Dare to Dream Awards Gala

April 15, 2010  |  152 comments

This year’s annual Dare to Dream Awards Gala (our 17th!) was an action-packed night to remember as we honored 29 young people as our Global Young Entrepreneurs of the Year, sponsored by The Goldman Sachs Foundation, and 25 educators as our Teachers of the Year, as well as several prominent members of the business community: BlueMountain Capital Management LLC, Eddie C. Brown and Diana Taylor.

The energy in the room as high as nearly 1,000 people gathered to support NFTE, helping us to raise more than $1.2 million to fund our programs around the world. Mary Calvi, CBS 2’s Weekend News Anchor, served as MC in tandem with hosts Adrena Prioleau-Womack and Brian Sessions, a student and teacher pair from our Baltimore program.

Several of our alumni were singled out with special awards throughout the evening:

Samson Tan, from the Bronx, New York, won the OppenheimerFunds Award for Social Entrepreneurship for his nonprofit organization, Knight Lacrosse, which introduces the sport to low-income kids in the Bronx.

Dana Laurie, from Bayside, Queens, was honored with the Daniel Treanor Memorial Award, which honors students who have succeeded while faced with health or physical challenges. Dana launched Purus Cosmetics several years ago and continued to operate her business while battling pituitary cancer.

Catherine E.H. Shows from Summerville, South Carolina was awarded our first ever Green Business Award for her company, Carolina Style Fashion Accessories, which recycles materials from Goodwill stores into beautiful accessories.

You can read about these three remarkable young people, as well as the rest of the students and teachers who were honored, on our website.

A big thank you to everyone who came out to support us this year! Your generosity is helping thousands of young people unlock their entrepreneurial creativity and reach their potential!

Enjoy these photos from the evening…

The 2010 Global Young Entrepreneurs of the Year,
sponsored by The Goldman Sachs Foundation.

NFTE's CEO, Amy Rosen, and Founder Steve Mariotti,
with Board Chair Landon Hilliard and CBS News'
Mary Calvi.

Post a Comment